Vikings News
News Photo
Men's Golf - Tue, Jun. 6, 2017

ATLANTA – The GCAA in conjunction with Golf Pride Grips today announced the six outstanding collegiate golf coaches receiving the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips. Golf Pride Grips will present the coaches with their awards during the Hall of Fame Banquet at the GCAA National Convention on December 11.

Scott Limbaugh, Vanderbilt (Division I), West Florida's Steve Fell (Division II), David Schreyer of Huntingdon (Division III), Grand View's Chris Winkel (NAIA), Rob Murray of Indian Hills (NJCAA Division I), and Ronnie Ross of Copiah-Lincoln (NJCAA Division II) earned coach of the year honors for 2017. Golf Pride Grips Region and District Coaches of the Year were also named.

Winkel is in his 14th season as head golf coach at Grand View. Under his leadership, the Viking men's golf program has grown to be one of the top programs in the nation, winning the NAIA National Championship title in 2017. Winkel led the Vikings to nine national tournament appearances in 2006, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2107, never finishing outside the top 12. Grand View has won six straight Midwest Collegiate Conference Championships along with two straight Heart of America Athletic Conference Championships. 

About Golf Pride Grips:

For 70 years, Golf Pride has been the global leader in golf grip innovation and technology, from the invention of the slip-on grip to groundbreaking advancements in cord with our new Brushed Cotton Technology (BCT®) to the introduction of the ALIGN Technology. Today, Golf Pride® has laid claim to more major wins than any other grip company. More than 80% of Tour professionals choose to play our grips and not one is paid to do so. And in this age of multi-million dollar endorsement deals, that's the strongest endorsement of all. So, whether you're a Tour pro playing a major, a rising amateur, or an everyday golfer, you can rest assured knowing you're playing the #1 Grip in Golf, visit or on Facebook at


Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award Presented by Golf Pride Grips


Division I - Scott Limbaugh, Vanderbilt

Division II - Steve Fell, West Florida

Division III - David Schreyer, Huntingdon

NAIA - Chris Winkel, Grand View

NJCAA Division I - Rob Murray, Indian Hills

NJCAA Division II - Ronnie Ross, Copiah-Lincoln


Golf Pride Grips Region and District Coaches of the Year


Division I

Northeast - Greg Nye, Penn State

East - Larry Penley, Clemson

Southeast - Scott Limbaugh, Vanderbilt

Midwest - Herb Page, Kent State

Central - Mike McGraw, Baylor

West - Casey Martin, Oregon


Division II

East - Joe Tesori, LeMoyne

Atlantic - Will Johnson, Charleston

Southeast - Howard Vroon, Newberry

South - Steve Fell, West Florida

Midwest - Kyle Wittenbach, Ferris State

Central - Luke Calcatera, Arkansas Tech

South Central - Phil Trujillo, CU-Colorado Springs

West - TL Brown, California Baptist


Division III

Northeast - Jeff Page, Babson

Mid-Atlantic - Dan Rodgers, Carnegie Mellon

South - David Schreyer, Huntingdon

Great Lakes - Jeff Roope, Wittenberg

Central - Bob Alpers, Saint John's

West - Jordan Cox, Mary Hardin-Baylor



North - Chris Winkel, Grand View

South - Ben Rickett, Dalton State

Central - Kyle Blaser, Oklahoma City

West - Jason Semelsberger, The Master's University


NJCAA Division I

District I - Sandy Davis, Eastern Arizona

District II - Matt McCormick, Western Texas

District III - Rob Murray, Indian Hills

District IV - Dave Jennings, Central Alabama


NJCAA Division II

East - Aaron Feyes, Andrew College

Central - Ronnie Ross, Copiah-Lincoln

West - Al Smith, Murray State (OK)

M - Golf