Vikings News
News Photo
Defending national champion Jacob Colon (133 pounds), Photo Credit: Doug Wells
Wrestling - Thu, Mar. 2, 2017

TOPEKA, Kan. – (Schedule | Press BookGrand View (Iowa) enters the 60th annual NAIA Wrestling National Championships, presented by USA Wrestling-Kansas, looking for a six-straight national title. The event consists of four sessions, opening action Friday at the Kansas Expocentre in Topeka, Kan., and concluding Saturday with the championship finals at 7 p.m.

If the Vikings claim the banner, they will become the only program in NAIA history to accomplish the feat and only the fourth program in collegiate wrestling history (NAIA, NCAA, NJCAA) to win six-consecutive titles. The other programs to do so are NCAA Division I Iowa (six-straight (1995-2000) and nine-straight (1978-86)), NCAA Division I Oklahoma State (seven-straight (1937-1949)) and NCAA Division II Cal Poly (seven-straight (1968-1974)).

Grand View, Indiana Tech and Oklahoma City all bring a full roster of 12 individuals to Topeka. Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) is next with 11 wrestlers competing, followed by Bacone (Okla.), Concordia (Neb.) and Williams Baptist (Ark.), which all bring nine grapplers.Grand View is bringing three defending national champions to the mat –Jacob Colon (SR/Clear Lake, Iowa) of Grand View (Iowa) (133 pounds), Michael Pixley (JR/Granite City, Illinois) of Grand View (184 pounds) and Dean Broghammer (JR/Manchester, Iowa) of Grand View (285 pounds). In 2016, Grand View set a new national championship record with 210 team points. The previous mark was 193 points, which was originally set by Dana (Neb.) in 2006 and tied by the Vikings in 2014.

Competing Grand View Wrestlers

No. 1 Jacob Colon (133)

No. 2 Josh Wenger (FR/Walford, Iowa) (141)

No. 4 Walker Marshall (SR/Missouri Valley, Iowa) (149)

No. 1 Grant Henderson (JR/Alburnett, Iowa) (165)

Ryan Niven (JR/Boston, Massachusetts) 165

No. 1 Lawton Benna (SO/Wentzville, Missouri) (174)

No. 3 Dylan Blackford (JR/Des Moines, Iowa) (174)

No. 3 Michael Pixley (184)

No. 2 Johnathen Dennis (SR/Shelton, Washington) (197)

No. 9 Evan Hansen (FR/Kimballton, Iowa) (197)

No. 1 Dean Broghammer (285)

No. 2 Jacob Laden (285)

Official brackets were verified and approved by the NAIA-Wrestling Coaches Association Bracketing Committee Thursday afternoon. (Brackets – PDF)

For the second-straight season, all matches at the national championships will be streamed live. Fans can find sessions I – III on the NAIA Network ( and on Trackwrestling via Trackcast. It's recommended that fans use the interactive bracket via the live scoring system on Trackwrestling to find their specific match. The title bouts (session IV) will be distributed on ESPN3.


Watch Links-


Broadcasting –

For more information on the NAIA Wrestling National Championships, click here.